Metro Atlanta Chapter scholarship recipients.

Alabama A&M University's 2017 Homecoming Recap Video

Alabama A&M University


Motto: Service is Sovereignty

Established: 1875

Type: Public, HBCU, Land grant

Location: Normal, Alabama, THE HILL

Colors: Maroon and White

Athletics: NCAA Division I FCS Southwestern Athletic Conference

Mascot: Bulldog

Mascot Name: Butch

Students: Called Normalites, from 44 states and 11 foreign countries

Degrees conferred: 41 Baccalaureate, 23 Master’s, 1 EdS and

4 doctoral degrees offered

Here are a few helpful links to begin your journey as a BULLDOG! Click the icons below.

Federal Application for Financial Aid

Attention Prospective Students

AAMU Office of Financial Aid

AAMU Office of Admissions

AAMU Historical Overview

Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University is a land grant University.  It receives support from the State of Alabama and through federal funds appropriated to assist in carrying on work stipulated by the Morrill Acts of 1862 and 1890.  The University is under the control of a board of trustees appointed by the Governor, who serves as the ex officio Chairman.

The University was organized in 1875 as a result of a bill passed in the State Legislature in 1873 and through the efforts of its first principal and president, William Hooper Councill, an ex-slave.  The school opened May 1, 1875, as the Huntsville Normal School with an appropriation of $1000 per year, 61 students and 2 teachers. 

After the introduction and success of industrial education, the State Legislature authorized the name to be changed to the State Normal and Industrial School of Huntsville in 1885.  The appropriation increased to $4000 per year. 

The name of the school was changed to the State Agricultural and Mechanical Institute for Negroes and a new location was provided in Normal, Alabama.  The new location provided ample room for the development of trades and agricultural programs.  In 1919, the institution became a junior college and the name changed to the State Agricultural and Mechanical School for Negros. 

In 1939, by the authority of the State Board of Education, the institution was permitted to offer studies on the college level.  The first class since 1920 received the bachelor’s degree in 1941.  The name was again changed to Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical College in 1948.  In December of 1963, the school received full accreditation from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.   On June 26, 1969, the Alabama State Board of Education adopted a resolution changing the name of the Institution to Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University. 

Today, Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University is a dynamic and progressive institution with a strong commitment to academic excellence.  The picturesque campus is situated on what many fondly refer to as the “The Hill.”  The University is a diverse and vibrant microcosm of the larger world around it.  It offers numerous degree programs, including four PhD degrees in Food Science, Physics and Soil Science and Reading Literacy.

Start Here -Go Anywhere!